RSS

A Basket Fit for A Queen

05 Jan

Having my work selected by the Pulpwood Queen has been my dream since the release of In the Garden with Billy: Lessons about Life, Love & Tomatoes. I knew that given the chance Queen Kathy Patrick, founder of the largest book club in the world, would fall in love with Billy Albertson just like I, and countless others had.

Kathy not only loves books, she loves baby chicks which was why I sent her a copy of In the Garden.

A month passed, then another, until finally I shelved the dream of being picked.

If I’ve learned anything during this journey as an author it is to never, ever give up. During the summer as I sliced cucumbers and boiled the brine to pour my thoughts returned to the Pulpwood Queen. I was working on Billy’s sequel titled In the Kitchen with Billy: Farming, Fords & Fried Bologna Sandwiches.  (more baby chicks, and this time…recipes). Perhaps I would bring jars of pickles to events as door prizes. I thought the same when slicing jalapeno peppers for the pepper jelly and as I held my breath and mixed the spice rub ingredients.

Then came the news, Kathy selected In the Garden with Billy as a Pulpwood Queen pick. The news came during one of those dark times, one filled with self-doubt. As tears pricked my eyes I felt like Sally Field: Kathy liked me, she really liked me.

Or the baby chicks…it mattered not.

Kathy asks all authors to donate a personal item, autographed if possible, to her annual Pulpwood Queen Girlfriend Weekend in Jefferson Texas. This item is auctioned off with proceeds benefiting a cause dear to all of our hearts, Dolly Parton’s Imagination Library. And while being on a panel with New York Times Bestselling authors is a bit daunting, the basket I have assembled is fit for a queen.

Bread & Butter Pickles, Japaleno Jelly and Spice Rub from Mr. Thomas.

Bread & Butter Pickles, Japaleno Jelly and Spice Rub from Mr. Thomas.

It is filled with love and appreciation. Readers will bid on jars of Dilly Beans, Bread and Butter Pickles, Grape Jelly made with grapes from the historic Hembree Farm, and a jar of Spice Rub from Georgia’s own, Mr. Thomas. But that’s not all…tune in later for an image of the basket and a complete list of everything inside.

Renea Winchester is the award-winning author of In the Garden with Billy: Lessons about Life, Love & Tomatoes. headsho

She is represented by Sullivan Max Literary Agency. In the Kitchen with Billy: Farming Fords & Fried Bologna Sandwiches will be released in 2013. Until then, she is hard at work at her first novel. Friend her on Facebook at: In the Garden with Billy, or visit her at www.reneawinchester.com

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “A Basket Fit for A Queen

  1. Val Hudgins

    January 6, 2013 at 12:17 am

    That is just WONDERFUL, Renea! Congratulations and I can’t wait to see the prize basket.

     
  2. Satin Sheet Diva

    January 6, 2013 at 4:01 pm

    So glad I get to watch your star rise :-).

     
  3. latebloomershow

    January 9, 2013 at 5:00 am

    Congrats!! It’s wonderful to realize a dream. And the basket contents are mouth-watering! – Kaye

     
  4. Donna Cox

    January 9, 2013 at 2:06 pm

    Congratulations Renea. Looking forward to many more stories, some of which are insight on my dear ones. Mr.Thomas rub is being used, smells sooooo good. I keep the “shellie” beans in the table, wanting to use them, but not wanting to see them go! Knowing the person who grew them makes them more precious and recalls times when we sat around shelling them and a kiss was given out for each solid” red” one. Thank you for the stories about your two children, we share the awareness of how time flees and takes them elsewhere. I also know where your sweetie gets his “cleaning the area” trait!! Save ME from it!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 518 other followers

