RSS

The Prayer Shawl

07 Jun

If you are a regular follower to my blog you’ll remember my post defending prayer. May was a prayer-filled month. Many of you have struggled with a variety of issues. Whether your struggle is health related, relationship difficulties, loss of loved one, or test anxiety we have a God who not only hears, but answers our prayers. Let me pause for a moment to speak to the unbelievers, even if you don’t believe, even if you despise God, He loves you. He loves you because you are His. God gets very lonely for you; he gets lonely for me too when I dash out the door and forget to take Him with me. He will never stop loving you.

God knows our struggles, He hurts when we hurt, and sometimes He sends complete strangers to comfort us. After my blog post, I received a personal message from a kind lady asking if she could make me a prayer shawl. My immediate answer, “YES!”

Last week the shawl arrived. Now, I must confess I didn’t know what to expect when I opened the package. The shawl that tumbled out literally filled my heart with love. Tears pricked my eyes. Bringing the softness to my face, I wept, one of those uncontrollable Southern spells of weeping. A complete stranger, invested a whole bunch of time to create something lovely for little ole me.

My prayer shawl, along with inspirational books given to me by Ann Hite and Kelle Mac

My prayer shawl, along with inspirational books given to me by Ann Hite and Kelle Mac my prayer journal, and of course the Bible. Some days I need all of these books just to start the day.

I’ve gotta be honest, I’ve been feeling unloved lately. Without getting into the details, let me just say that I’ve been fighting the good fight for my daughter’s sake and for the sake of other students, I’ve been working hard, physically, on many projects, and in the middle of that working equally hard on my latest writing work in progress. At the end of the day I’m exhausted and feel very under appreciated. I know that all mothers feel this way. We’re all tired, weary of working so hard for so little. So for all the women out there who feel overwhelmed, I feel your pain!

The prayer shawl reminded me that no matter how I feel physically or emotionally, God loves me. He wants to wrap His arms around me. He wants to love little ole me, (and you) all day, every day, if I will just let Him.

Tucked inside the shawl was a beautiful card which read (in part) May the prayers stitched into this shawl come alive for you as you wrap yourself in hugs.

The beautiful note tucked inside my shawl.

The beautiful note tucked inside my shawl.

So today, I am thankful for my prayer shawl, and for the woman who listened to the voice of God saying, “stitch a shawl for Renea.” This morning I flipped through Psalms and found what I thought was a great scripture: Ps: 116. I love the Lord because He hears my voice and my prayer for mercy. Because He bends down to listen. I will pray as long as I have breath!”

I love the visual image, of God listening, bending down to hear me. He is listening for me, little ole dust-speck me. 

Renea Winchester is the award-winning author of In the Garden with Billy: Lessons About Life, Love & Tomatoes. In 2012, she released Stress-Free Marketing: Practical Advice for the Newly Published Author. 2014 will see the release of Farming, Friends & Fried Bologna Sandwiches. She is currently working on her first novel. She would love to hear from you. Visit her at www.reneawinchester.com

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 549 other followers

