RSS

Coming Soon…Baby Goats

09 Dec

"No Renea, I am not having the baby yet."

At Billy’s farm winter is a time of gestation. While humans are “cooped up” inside the house, outside the Nannies grow fat. They lounge about teasing visitors with the hope that today just might be the day a baby goat (called a “kid”) will be born. 

There is nothing sweeter than a newborn baby, especially a baby goat.

Billy’s Nannies test my patience. I realize it takes about five months of waiting before the newborn arrives; however, a glance at the pasture reveals rotund bellies that look (at least to me) like it’s baby time.

“They’ll come when they’re ready.” Billy assures me. “Until then, we wait.”

Waiting is not a virtue I possess.

During this “in between” time as Billy and I await the new arrivals I thought I would share some photos I’ve taken at Billy’s farm.

Patience: A Virtue in Nanny Goats

This is one of my favorite pictures. Kids are known for their ability to jump, climb and basically get into all sorts of mischief.  Billy and I were watching the kids one cold December day last year. Suddenly, this kid jumped on his mother’s back and began chewing on her horn.  She acted like it was no big deal !

"Follow me. I'll get us out of this mess."

While the kid chewied on his Mother’s horn, two others set out on an adventure. Goats are curious creatures and when two kids search for adventure, trouble is usually what they find. As they entered the area where Billy stores the tomato cages I grew a bit nervous. I was worried they would become trapped and possibly get injured inside the jumbled mess of wire and string. “Just watch,” Billy said when I expressed my concern. “A goat can get in a whole heap of trouble.”  He paused. “But he also knows how to get out of a whole heap of trouble as well.” 

Sure enough the kids got stuck, but only for a moment. Instead of struggling they stood still, and calculated their escape. With a kick and a jump they were soon free.

Keep checking the blog or the In The Garden With Billy Facebook Page  for a birth announcement. Who knows? Perhaps we’ll have a baby shower at the farm before the New Year.

 

2 responses to “Coming Soon…Baby Goats

  1. Kimberlie Pekez

    December 31, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    My mother-in-law brought your article to me about Billy’s farm in the Georgia Magazine. She is a avid gardener and is always trying to find a place to purchase manure. Would it be possible to contact Billy to see if he would be interested in selling some of his goats manure. I would love to hear back from you.

    Kind Regards,
    Kimberlie

     
  2. marcia at Child in Harmony

    January 6, 2011 at 3:51 pm

    i LOVE goats…we want to get some too…but all in good time.My plate if full right now…full of good things.. but there’s only so many hours in a day.

    thanks for the friend request.
    happy day and happy new year to you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
