RSS

What’s Keeping Me From Gardening…

16 Mar

There are some who follow this blog who may not know that my “real” job is that of a published Author. Not only do I help Billy in his garden, I wrote a book about our adventures.

In The Garden With Billy

The book has been well received and I am so very grateful to you, the readers, who have attended events, emailed, called and visited the farm wanting to know how to grow your own food. 

Today’s blog is a pictorial account of some of the places I’ve traveled while promoting the book.

In The Garden With Billy: Lessons About Life, Love & Tomatoes was launched in the fall of October, after a long awaited, painful period called the “in between time.” A wringing-hands-and- praying time when supersticious authors like myself worry that something will happen at the last minute to “kill” all of their hard work. 

Thankfully the book arrived safely and Billy graciously allowed me access to the farm and we hosted what

The John Deer "tractor"

can only be described as the best book launch in history. Seriously, try to find another book launch that featured “hay rides” pulled by a lawnmower-tractor with one particular wheel that kept leaping off randomly. Go ahead, I dare you.

From there it’s been a non-stop traipse of talks and tales of  gardening adventures sprinkled with the “real message” behind the book…that of the value of friendships.  To use my grandpa’s saying, “I am proud to know you.”

Every one of you. You have no idea how much it means for me that you’ve taken your precious time to get to know me.  I am not the most techno-savvy author in the world, but I would love to share with you some snapshots taken at libraries, book club meeting, and book stores who graciously invited me into their heart. My schedule is filling up for 2011, so please visit my website at www.reneawinchester.com to see where I am, or to invite me to your event; and do come see me.

~~~~~~~~~

While speaking to readers I met Jennie Helderman who informed me that In The Garden With Billy had been nominated for a SIBA award. This is  quite an honor. Additionally, I have been nominated for the Georgia Author of the Year !

Visit my website to learn more about me, and of course, remember to keep those hands dirty !

 

Leave a Reply

 
