RSS

It’s time to plant, almost

09 Apr

By Renea Winchester

Here in Atlanta, it seems we’ve bypassed spring and tumbled headlong into the swelt of summer humidity. Birds are building nests and weeds are growing faster than I can type.  Today would be the perfect day to plant the entire vegetable garden. But wait!

Patience dear readers.

If you plant according to the almanac (and you should), you know that we don’t have permission to plant for another week; April 16 to be exact.

The almanac allows the planting of vegetables on April 16-20th, then again on the 23rd and 25th.  Today, right now, is time to start seeds. For those who need instructions, visit this blog link for specific directions.

Today, I’ll start seeds. I’ll also pull chickweed that is growing faster than Kudzu. I’ll try to locate the pea gravel my husband has strewn across the lawn with his Tim-The-Tool-Man leafblower, and then return the pebbles to where they belong. I’ll prepare the soil, working in last-minute organic matter such as wood ashes, tea and coffee, and perhaps a bit of newspaper.

Then next Saturday, I’ll plunge my hands deep in the dirt and plant a few vegetables.

If you’d like to catch a glimpse of Billy tilling the soil visit this Youtube link. Feel free to subscribe to this blog, and the Youtube channel. Soon, I’ll launch a contest to those who subscribe, and leave comments on this blog. The prize: free seeds, of course!

Have a great day and remember to keep those hands dirty!

 

2 responses to “It’s time to plant, almost

  1. Nebraska Dave

    April 11, 2011 at 1:56 am

    Renea, it’s always good to hear about Billy and gardening. I just pray that I can wrestle a tiller around like Billy when I get to be that age. Our weather here in Nebraska has been a yo yo with one day being cold and the next being hot. I’m not sure what to make of it yet.

    I pray that you and Billy had a great weekend working in the garden.

     
  2. Debbie McMurry

    April 12, 2011 at 9:51 pm

    Renea, I love all your blogs and look forward to reading them. Loved this one about planting as we plant a lot of veggies and flowers. Hubby does use two sizes of tillers as well as the one on his tractor.
    Happy gardening!

     

Leave a Reply

 
