RSS

From Spice Aisle to Garden: How to Turn Dill Seeds Into Plants

27 Apr
 
One day spices, next day plants!

It began with Dilly Beans. A canned concoction I was certain to dislike, until I tasted them.

It became an obsession. One bite and you’ll know what I mean. Each year, Billy and I vow to grow something “different.” Not in an excentric way, but something he hasn’t grown before. One bite of the Dilly Beans Nettie Mae Cooper made and we both knew this year’s “new crop” would be Dill.

I “carried” a plastic container of Dill seed I had purchased at the Dekalb Farmer’s Market (in Decatur GA) to Billy’s “little strip of land.” Reasoning that 66 cents was an investment my pocketbook could handle (compared to a couple of bucks for a dozen garden supply seeds) I began my experiment.

Would common seeds purchased in the spice aisle germinate?

Short answer: Oh boy, yes!

Visit this link to see how I planted the seeds. Billy comes in at the last with a wheelbarrow load of “organic” fertilizer. Which, by the way, I did not incorporate. Thank goodness !

Seven days later, I visited the Dill “bed.”

 Imagine my surprise when every single seed germinated….twice ! Seriously, this is enough Dill to cover Atlanta. I am excited. Dill is basically a weed. Now the challenge becomes to keep Billy from fertilizing it.

Here’s a video of what the Dill looked like 9 days after planting. File this under the category: Be careful what you wish for.

Remember: comment on this or any blog and be automatically registered to win a FREE pack of Heriloom Tomato seeds from Botanical Interests.(Learn how: HERE).  I give them away every Friday until the end of May.

Until next time: Remember to keep those hands dirty (and the fertilizer away from the Dill).

 
7 Comments

Posted by on April 27, 2011 in Billy Albertson: Stories & Adventures

 

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “From Spice Aisle to Garden: How to Turn Dill Seeds Into Plants

  1. Mark Setzer

    April 28, 2011 at 9:59 pm

    I was thinking of growing some dill this year so I could try out some Scandinavian recipes. May even try to make some gravlax.

     
  2. nancy garry

    April 28, 2011 at 10:08 pm

    That makes me so hungry for dilly beans…It’s one of my favorite dills…. Please share that recipe if you can!

     
  3. Kay

    May 2, 2011 at 12:24 am

    Since you may end up with a little extra dill, try using it in flower arrangements! Also, the butterflies love it!

     
  4. Carol

    June 18, 2011 at 7:24 pm

    I live near Key West, so it’s sunny year round. I grow dill in raised beds that are watered automatically every day. The lettuces, strawberries and basil plants that grow near the dill all grow like weeds. But over and over again the dill plants grow, flower, and then die. So then, I re-seed and start over again. Here in the land of perpetual sunshine annuals never die. I’ve had tomato and basil plants, impatiens and begonias grow for years, as I prune them back over and over. But the dill comes and goes before I barely have a chance to use it! Am I doing something wrong, or is dill just a very short lived plant?

     
    • blogthefarm

      June 19, 2011 at 7:58 pm

      Thank you for your comment. Dill is short-lived, especially in hot climates. Fortunately, it sounds like you have it year round. Here in Atlanta, I can’t get lettuce to do anything past April. You must have a secret. Nice chatting with you about the garden. Keep those hands dirty.

       
    • Cindy

      July 13, 2016 at 6:27 pm

      Pick it and freeze it

       

Leave a Reply

 
