RSS

Readers Write…and Send Gifts

25 Oct

It’s no secret, I love receiving mail. The very act of allotting a portion of your precious time and gifting it to me in the form of a card or letter makes me feel loved.

I have met some of the most precious people during the In the Garden with Billy book tour. Many have given me gifts. I’ve received cosmos, zinna, and columbine seeds from flower gardens. Recipe books, aprons, (much needed) dishtowels, picture frames, even a birthday cake …all are appreciated and enjoyed. At home, I don’t display items that have special meaning, I use them.

With that I must share the most unusual, thoughtful and much-needed gift that I received yesterday… a pair of tomato knives.

For those who have read the “Sharp Knives” chapter of In the Garden with Billy, y’all know how important it is that kitchen implements retain their shiney-sharp nature. You also know that this chapter is about my grandfather, Frank Winchester. So when a reader from Pittsboro, North Carolina sent a set of Rada Made in the USA pair of knives, I almost cried.

Pause for a SHOUT OUT to my North Carolina family of readers…hey y’all! Big hugs!

I’m deeply touched because someone cared enough about my story to spend money their hard-earned-money. I just know that this is the kind of reader who would drop everything and help her neighbor. She understands the story behind the book. As my grandpa would say, “She’s good people and I’m proud to know her.”

The precious part about her gift is that even though it is October, I still have tomatoes ripening on the vine. It is in her honor that I “wore the new off” my knife and whipped up a batch of salsa.

How richly blessed I am. Thank you all for enriching my life.

Renea Winchester’s next book Stress-free Marketing: Practical Advice for the Newly Published Author will be released in November. She advises authors on the path to publication at her blog Advice For Authors. Visit it here. Those who subscribe to the blog are registered to receive a free copy of the book which will be given away in December by Make Your Mark Publishing.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 25, 2011 in Billy Albertson: Stories & Adventures

 

One response to “Readers Write…and Send Gifts

  1. Ana Raquel Ruiz

    October 26, 2011 at 3:29 am

    I Love it!!!:-)

     

Leave a Reply

 
