RSS

February Daffodils

12 Feb

I told the daffodils this would happen.

Rescued 1997

 

I warned them not to be in a hurry. Even though the Jonquils (which I call daffodils) in my yard are particularly strong, few plants can withstand gusty winds and below freezing temperatures. Years ago these plants had been ripped from the earth as they first appeared. These rescued flowers aren’t appreciated by developers who care not for their golden faces. Perhaps that is why I urge them to stay tucked inside Mother Nature’s womb until the time is really right for them to appear.

I warned them (in January) when they erupted from the earth eager to announce the arrival of spring that it was, in fact, not time. In previous years I piled mulch atop the greenery when it first emerged, a process that seemed to only encourage them. Today, as their tiny yellow heads hang in shame (they should have listened to their momma), I wish they were still nestled safely in the earth.

Cold, sad, daffy

January and February have traditionally been a time of rest and rejuvenation for mankind. Instead, most of us have been more hurried than ever before. That, if I am truly honest, is why I wanted the daffodils to sleep until March. Knowing the frenzy of work that awaits, I needed permission to rest a bit. 

Sadly, now that their petals are cold, I realize the possibility of a beautiful “traditional” spring has diminished. I won’t be sitting outside in March inhaling the fragrance of daffodils, and for that I am sad.

Renea Winchester is the author of In the Garden with Billy, and Stress-free Marketing: Practical Advice for the Newly Published Author. Currently, she is working on In the Kitchen with Billy and collaborating with an editor who is assembling a book titled Ora Coleman’s Legacy. She may be reached at www.reneawinchester.com

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 12, 2012 in Flowers

 

3 responses to “February Daffodils

  1. Nebraska Dave

    February 12, 2012 at 3:13 pm

    Renea, the weather here in Nebraska turned cold and snowy just in time before the bulbs starting coming up. At least I hope that was the case. No above ground evidence was apparent but the soil was not frozen until last week when the freezing cold weather finally arrived in Nebraska. It will be interesting to see just how all the mild weather will effect the spring wake up. The ground is definitely frozen now and hopefully will remain so until spring arrives in thirty some days. Last year my tulips and daffodils woke up at the end of February which I thought was a bit too early but somehow they made it through the last of the freezing temperatures and even a snow storm. I guess they are tougher than I thought. Anyway, I’m standing ready waiting with great anticipation to turn that first shovel of dirt in the garden that will mark the beginning of the 2012 gardening season.

    Have a great day.

     
  2. Karen

    February 12, 2012 at 6:53 pm

    I am sad, too. Do you think the cherry tree blossoms will make it? Have enjoyed your blog!

     
  3. Satin Sheet Diva

    February 13, 2012 at 3:28 am

    I hope they surprise you and give you a most colorful, fragrant Spring…

     

Leave a Reply

 
