RSS

Fresh from the Plant Sale

05 May

It’s a miracle…an honest to goodness, bona-fide miracle. I returned from the plant sale without purchasing anything.

Well, I exchanged plants so that technically isn’t a purchase. The Roswell Garden Club held their annual pass-along plant sale at the Smith Plantation. In addition to being on the grounds of the plantation, the weather was beautiful. I had been asked to bring tomato plants from Billy’s garden and some of that super-duper organic fertilizer from last year.

A traditional part of the annual sale is the procurement of Hyacinth Beans which Mrs. Moses sprouts. For those unfamiliar with the bean, visit Botanical Interests here to purchase a pack (or ten). This bean makes the perfect “cover” for a hideously ugly downspout.

I plant mine in a container and allow them to climb the drab brown exterior.  You can also plant them directly in the soil at the base of an arbor or trellis, or as Susan Coleman shows, at the mailbox. Isn’t that a great idea?

As the sale came to a close club members, knowing of my connection with Billy Albertson, allowed me to take several Ace 55 tomato plants home for free. I have no idea what this tomato would look like, but as y’all know by now, I love providing homes for unwanted animals and plants alike. I am happy to take the plant and if it produces share the tomatoes.

According to TheTomatoGarden.com I am in for a treat. In the photo provided from their website, Ace 55 tomatoes take a while to develop. Expect fruit in 75-80 days (I wonder why they didn’t call them Ace 75, but I digress). I should also expect each tomato to weigh 10 to 12 ounces.

image fromthetomatogarden.com

Now we’re talking ! As you can see, this is a monster, weighing in at 12.5 ounces. According to the website, this particular variety is also an heirloom.

I can’t wait to make a space for it in my garden; or as Billy says, “lemme make a row.”

Whether it be flower or veggie, get outside and enjoy this beautiful day. And remember, keep those hands dirty.

Renea Winchester is a member of the Roswell Garden Club, the Atlanta Writers Club, the Georgia Writers Association. She is the author of In the Garden with Billy: Lessons about Life, Love & Tomatoes, and Stress-free Marketing: Practical Advice for the Newly Published Author. She is currently working on In the Kitchen with Billy. Visit her at www.reneawinchester.com

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 5, 2012 in Flowers

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
