RSS

Enjoying the Rain

05 Jun

It’s a rainy day here in Atlanta. A day like most others, where I wake and immediately scan the mental “to-do” list. Today, was bean-picking day at Farmer Billy’s. But alas, since I do not watch television (too much politics), I missed the local forecast and altered my plans with the darkening clouds.

For those visiting my blog for the first time, I wrote a book titled: In the Garden with Billy: Lessons About Life, Love & Tomatoes. The book is about the last farmer in Roswell, Georgia. Not to brag, but it’s a pretty good book that was nominated for several awards and recently earned me the Author of the Year award from the Atlanta Pen Women Association. Your favorite bookstore can order it, or, Billy and I will personalize a copy when ordered through my website.

Today, there would be no farm visit. With the family gone and the house empty, I turn on the music and stand still waiting to steep the perfect cup of tea. Sometimes, all of the wrongs seem right when the tea is perfect. Personal time…something rare these days.

Realizing the many people curse the rain for interfering in their daily activities, as the drops began falling I grabbed my camera, curled my hands around the mug, and for a moment was very thankful. My tomatoes still have a long way to go before they look like this, but these things take time.

Click here to view a short video of the gentle rain falling. So far it’s a great year for gardening. As you can see my planter is bursting with tomatoes.

Chickens aren’t happy when rain falls; “mad as a wet hen” comes to mind. As I fed my chickens (on the front porch) I captured my view of heaven raining down this drippy yet glorious Atlanta morning.

Enjoy their video view from my front porch by clicking here.The ocassional chirps are from my girls. I hope you enjoy your day.

Remember: I am giving away a $10.00 gift certificate for Botanical Interests to my 100th follower of this blog. Click “RSS feed” at top. $ 20.00 for the 200th follower. Feel free to share my blog with others. Thank you for stopping by.

Renea Winchester is an award winning author visit her at www.reneawinchester.com

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
