RSS

The Next Big Thing

04 Dec

Ann Hite and Kimberly Brock asked me to answer ten questions about my current work in progress, but before I begin, I need to share that I have finished In the Kitchen with Billy, which some of you may know is the sequel to In the Garden with Billy. This book is currently being edited. I will let you know the moment I have a publication date. Now, on to the current work in progress:

What is your working title of your book?
Outbound Train

Where did the idea come from for the book?

The idea for this book came from two experiences. I was riding with my brother in my hometown of Bryson City, North Carolina. We were stopped because the train was traveling through (it’s a small town, the train stops traffic); out of the corner of my eye I noticed a trailer park and imagined life there, beside the tracks. Then I came home and stumbled across a photo.  I printed the photo and it has been taped to my wall for two years. I look at this image, wanting to know more about the girl on the tracks. (Credit ffffound.com) outboundtrain

What genre does your book fall under?
This is my fourth book, my first novel.  It is Southern Fiction

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
Sandra Bullock, of course, don’t we all adore her?

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
Girl dreams of leaving the small town that trapped the women in her family in a cycle of poverty.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
This is a work in progress and I am currently seeking representation.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?
The novel is still in progress. My previous nonfiction books, In the Garden with Billy, and In the Kitchen with Billy, each took a year. Stress-Free Marketing: Practical Advice for the Newly Published Author took 9 months. You can learn more about Billy on the In the Garden with Billy FB page, or through my website www.reneawinchester.com

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
Because I believe that each author has his or her own voice, I don’t like to compare my work with others.  I am surrounded by so many talented authors, I am honored just to be in the same room with them.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

Many years ago, Wilma Dykeman, TN Historian, lover of Western North Carolina, and a pioneer of women’s literature, clasped my hand and told me that I could write anything. She believed in me. I cannot let her down.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?
Even though my first two books are classified as Memoir, Outbound Train contains tiny pieces of my heart woven throughout this manuscript. That is true with most authors. But in this manuscript,  I want to honor the people of my hometown, the hard-working factory workers who would literally give you the shirt off their back; those who live from paycheck to paycheck and understand hardship; people who are too proud to ask for help. To my southern friends and family, and readers everywhere who encourage me, I write for you.

Now, who to tag?

Donald Tadman (my friend from Down Under)

Lee Giminez

Bob Plott

and Gy Brown

Message for tagged authors:
Rules of the Next Big Thing

***Use this format for your post
***Answer the ten questions about your current WIP (work in progress)
***Tag five other writers/bloggers and add their links so we can hop over and meet them. Be sure to line up your five people in advance. (I’ve seen these posts run with only three or four tagged writers, so no pressure.)

 
 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
