RSS

What is My New Book About?

09 Sep
What is My New Book About?

Authors are often asked, “What is your book about?” The title of my latest book, Farming, Friends, and Fried Bologna Sandwiches (hopefully) provides a clue. In this post I let images from the book launch describe exactly what the book is about. Mercer University Press released Farming on September 1st, and the Book Exchange in Marietta, Georgia helped me launch Farming into this big world on September 6, 2014. Now it is up to you, my readers, to decide if the book is worthy. For local readers, there are two more opportunities to meet me: September 11, at 11 am at Bookmiser in Roswell; September 13th from 1-4 at the Visitor Center at 617 Atlanta Street, Roswell, Georgia (parking in back of building); and September 16 at 6:30 at Fox Tale Book Shoppe in Woodstock, GA.

The week following a release is a nervous time. Will readers enjoy my stories? Will they be excited enough to tell others, to call their book clubs, to give it as a gift? Share this blog. Tell their neighbors, friends, preacher, and hairdresser?

Hope so. My success depends on you. Personal recommendations make books successful. So I now enter my time of waiting. Hoping. Praying that you enjoy my offering. Many will read the title, and judge Farming without opening the pages. My heart aches for those people, because this is what they are missing:

donnabaker0

Notice eggs on table Photo by Donna Baker

donnabaker2

Andrew Wordes, “The Chicken Man” and Mr. Ora Coleman were both dear friends of Billy’s

donnabaker4

Photo by Donna Baker, who introduced me to Noemi’s Tamales. Noemi’s Tamales are mentioned in Farming, Friends, and Fried Bologna Sandwiches

blogpostronaldpilcher

Heritage Corn: No GMO. Family grown since the 1800s Photo by Ronald Pilcher

blogpostronaldpilcher3

Photo by Ronald Pilcher

blogpostronaldpilcher1

Billy signing copies of the first book about him: In the Garden with Billy: Lessons about Life, Love, and Tomatoes Photo by Ronald Pilcher

blogpostronaldpilcher06

Raymond Atkins made an appearance on his way to launch his own book at Fox Tale Book Shoppe in Woodstock GA. Photo by Ronald Pilcher

blogpostronaldpilcher04

Photo by Ronald Pilcher

blogpostcarmen

Forever Friends Photo by Kendall

taraandme

And then Tara came, and I gained another sister.

blogpostfacebookimage

You ask what Farming, Friends, and Fried Bologna Sandwiches is about. This Dear One, answers that question.

blogpostronaldpilcher05

Billy with Abbe who helped plant corn and okra Photo by Ronald Pilcher

DSC_7968

Photo by Ronald Pilcher

DSC_7999

Sister Betty and I modeling Polly Dolly’s beautiful aprons made from recycled jeans and shirts. Photo by Ronald Pilcher

Ana Raquel, mentioned in the book.

Ana Raquel, mentioned in the book.

DSC_7993

Forever Family Photo by Ronald Pilcher

Linger on this photo. Take it all in. If this photo doesn't make you want to buy a copy of my book, I shall cap my pen.

Linger at this photo. Take it all in. If this image doesn’t make you want to buy a copy of my book, I shall cap my pen.

blogposttracyhoexter

Image by Tracy Hoexter Photography

 

How to order: All bookstores can order a copy of this book for you. Find your local bookstore here.  For those who don’t have local bookstores in your area. Here, and here, are the online links. Please note that an electronic version will NOT release for a couple more months. Order directly through the publisher using this link. Plug in the word facebook, for a 20% discount and FREE shipping.

THANK YOU to everyone who captured images of the launch: Donna Baker, Ana Raquel, Carmen Slaughter, Ronald Pilcher, Tracy Hoexter Kendall my roving photographer, and many, many more. Hosting an outdoor launch on a working farm is an exhausting feat. Thank you to Crop-Mob Atlanta, Tina (who cut the grass with a push mower in 90+ degree heat), and to the Georgia Chapter of the Rescue Sisters who helped whenever I asked. Thank you to my sponsors, Botanical Interests and Growbest Plant food who offered freebies, and Noemi’s Tamales for agreeing to set up a booth and sell tamales. They were a hit. Thank you to Rita of Polly Dolly’s Creations who made lovely aprons from Billy’s worn-out clothing and used feed sacks, and Cotton Albertson whose Folk-Art carvings remind me of my favorite uncle. Much love to my beloved husband, and my daughter Jamie who worked the Dilly Bean and Cornmeal table. I am blessed, truly blessed.

Renea Winchester is the award-winning author of Mountain Memories: True Stories and Half-Truths from Appalachia. Her first book, In the Garden with Billy: Lessons About Life, Love & Tomatoes earned her a SIBA and GAYA nomination. Mercer University Press  released Farming, Friends, & Fried Bologna Sandwiches in September. Email her through her website at www.reneawinchester.com. She welcomes new friends on Facebook. Follow her on Twitter Here.

 

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “What is My New Book About?

  1. Satin Sheet Diva

    September 9, 2014 at 11:20 am

    Reblogged this on Nowata Press Publishing Consultants and commented:
    Congratulations to Renea Winchester, Nowata Press friend and marketing mentor on the release of her third book, Farming, Friends, and Fried Bologna Sandwiches (available NOW). This is how a book launch looks. 🙂 Want to have one of your own someday? Then let’s chat.

     

Leave a Reply

 
