RSS

Reader Recipe Challenge

21 Oct
Reader Recipe Challenge

Happy Book Anniversary to me. A little over a month has passed since Mercer University Press released, Farming, Friends, and Fried Bologna Sandwiches. Melissa, a reader in Massachusetts, contacted me and suggested that I launch a recipe contest. Since I am always looking for new ways to promote my work and encourage others to read, I accepted her challenge.

As an aside, isn’t it great that I have readers of the Northern persuasion? I am so happy. She didn’t understand the “Dope in a Bottle,” and vowed to try that recipe just so she could experience a taste of the South.

Here is how the challenge works. Make a recipe from the book. Take a photo of both my book and the food (or beverage). Challenge friends to buy the book and try a recipe. If you are on Facebook or Twitter, tag your friends, and me, and share the images. I want to create a movement of readers sharing their favorite parts of the book, and encouraging their friends and family to support Independent Booksellers, and of course, buy my book. readingchallenge

Your photo is your entry into the contest. Make sure you tag me.

Obviously, I am going to challenge several readers to try the “Dope in a Bottle” on page 17. Especially readers like my Yankee friend Melissa.  My home-town readers will know all about a Dope in a Bottle. The Recipe Challenge is a fun way for readers to try new food, and come together as a community of foodies and readers. But the best part is that on November 22, I will give away a gift basket with goodies from the farm. Some of what you will receive is pictured here.

Table Runner NOT part of the contest. Winner receives Topsy Turvey, Dilly Beans, Botanical Interests Seeds, Hat, and a book bag made from Billy's overalls.

Table Runner NOT part of the contest. Winner receives Topsy Turvey, Dilly Beans, Botanical Interests Seeds, Hat, and a book bag made from Billy’s overalls.

If you are on Facebook, please share a video that I made about the contest. You may view it here.

Here is an example from Carol who decided to make her own recipe of cornmeal mush using Winchester Cornmeal (which you will learn about when you read the book). What a great idea. As you see, I just want you to read, make something delicious, and share it with your friends and neighbors.

Carol's entry

Carol’s entry

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I want to take a moment to stress the importance of reading. Now, more than even, authors are struggling. Farming, Friends, and Fried Bologna Sandwiches is a labor of love, and investment of two years. So I challenge readers to do more than enjoy the book, please tell others it. For you see, this book isn’t about bologna. It is about the community that once was, and can be again if we make the investment. It is a celebration of hard-working folk across the US who survived on peanut butter and baloney sandwiches, and on payday treated themselves to a Dope in a Bottle.

 

Renea Winchester is the award-winning author of Mountain Memories: True Stories and Half-Truths from Appalachia. Her first book, In the Garden with Billy: Lessons About Life, Love & Tomatoes earned her a SIBA and GAYA nomination. Mercer University Press  released Farming, Friends, & Fried Bologna Sandwiches in September. Email her through her website at www.reneawinchester.com. She welcomes new friends on Facebook. Follow her on Twitter Here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Link to my business page: www.makeyourmarkpublishing.com My website: www.reneawinchester.com My facebook: https://www.facebook.com/reneawinchester

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 21, 2014 in Billy Albertson: Stories & Adventures

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Reader Recipe Challenge

  1. Satin Sheet Diva

    October 21, 2014 at 12:49 pm

    Reblogged this on Nowata Press Publishing Consultants and commented:
    A great read, even better food, and a chance to win a gift basket. It doesn’t get much better than this :-). Helping to spread the word about the latest book by award winning author Renea Winchester!

     
  2. Rose Marie Morton

    October 25, 2014 at 7:32 pm

    What a great idea, Renea, it will be so much fun seeing what people come up with!

     

Leave a Reply

 
