RSS

Tis the Season . . . for book giving

16 Dec
Tis the Season . . . for book giving

Friends, it seems like only yesterday I was picking vegetables and mixing the brine for Dilly Beans; seems like I have only blinked twice since Mercer University Press launched Farming, Friends, and Fried Bologna Sandwiches into this great big world. Time, as they say, truly is only a blink, a breath, a moment. This has been a year of loss, the murder of a dear friend, the death of my mother and then on small business Saturday, while enroute to three events. . . BAM! I was in a car accident.

Needless to say, I missed all three events. I am still healing, and am thankful for your prayers.

Despite my happy posts on the social media avenue I call “Fakebook,” as the holiday’s approach I feel grief breathing down my neck. My motto, “keep putting one foot in front of the other,” will not sustain me indefinitely and despite my best attempts to press on past the grief, I know that the only way to move forward is to let the process work. Grief must work. Never fear, I will not allow a spirit of grief to overtake me, but I do sincerely ask for your prayers as the holidays approach.

Life hands us our own set of challenges doesn’t it? Each day it seems that more of us are struggling, scratching, clawing just to have a little joy in our lives. My prayer is that you have a safe and blessed Holiday season and that you will always feel loved. 
But life does move forward; seasons come and go. Time heals. So with that I want to introduce you to two new authors I have discovered.

Marly Youmans grew up in the South and now makes her home “up North.” (but she returns to the mountains every chance she gets). She spent most of this fall in Jackson County, NC with her mother where she launched her latest book, Glimmer Glass. Today I write about her previous book, A Death at the White Camellia Orphanage. I mention it only because I haven’t a moment to begin Glimmer Glass, which is receiving wonderful reviews. Her words truly are spellbinding. From the first chapter the reader is drawn toward the story. Youmans possesses the talent of word-weaving that makes me proud to be an author. Winner of multiple awards, including the Ferol Sams Award, I strongly recommend giving A Death at the White Camellia Orphanage as a gift this year. Read an excerpt from the book here.

Billy Coffey is a God-fearing genius of a writer that I stumbled upon earlier this year. Like Youmans, his prose is strong. Confident. Bold. Both are third-person authors, arguably the most difficult prose to master. Coffey’s latest book, Heart of Dark Wood hooks readers from the beginning.

There are times in my life when I am hungry for a book that challenges me. This is the one. Here is an excerpt from the first chapter: Allie Granderson had not cried once in the five hundred forty-two days since everything ended; even as she sat hunched and dying, she vowed not to cry on the five hundred forty-third. 
Wow. That my friends is a hook !

For readers who want to read about Christmases past my ebook, A Hardscrabble Christmasis available via electric format. This first-person account of Billy Albertson’s life and how Christmas has changed in the 82 years he has been on this earth will certainly put you in the spirit.

Do you still maintain traditions in your family? Cookie bakes, dough ornaments, wassail, or Russian tea? Do you know that way-back-when folk used to dress up for Christmas like we do for Halloween? Read more about it in A Hardscrabble Christmas.

As always, your support matters to me. This has been a difficult year and family obligations prevented me from marketing Farming, Friends, and Fried Bologna Sandwiches as I would have liked. I had to let go of those worries and when I did, when I truly let go something magical happened, readers like you carried the torch. You told a friend. You visited an independent bookstore. You ordered books personally through my website. You sustained me with your thoughts, prayers, and kind deeds. As we celebrate this beautiful season of hope, I am filled with prayers of thanksgiving. I am so humbled and honored to have received the kindness you have bestowed upon me. If you haven’t yet ordered a copy of Farming, Friends, and Fried Bologna Sandwiches, please consider doing so today. Any success I have is because of your support.

I’ll leave you with an excerpt from Farming:

There is no shame in enjoying a fried bologna sandwich. Some foods trigger memories. I bet you can still remember the first time you tasted a gooey campfire s’more dripping with melted chocolate and marshmallow fluff: the feel of a rough graham cracker as it touched your fingers; the anticipation as you pressed the crackers together, blending chocolate with puffy white goo. Your tongue traced the edge of the cracker. You wanted to savor each bite, but then your best friend said, “Bet you can’t cram the whole thing in your mouth.” So you did.

Wishing you gooey, delicious memories today . . . and always 
Renea

Note: I select authors based on personal taste. I do not receive compensation, or complimentary books. Please purchase from either an Independent Bookstore or personally from the author. 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 16, 2014 in Book Reviews

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
