RSS

Spring Fever Free Seed Giveaway

06 Feb
Spring Fever Free Seed Giveaway

It is #Gardengiveaway time. I’m talking FREE SEEDS. I know that I probably speak for a few of my Northern friends when I say, “We need the sun!” We’re not exactly happy with the groundhog right now either.

Here in the Southern zone  of 7A, we can see the lackluster-colored ground. We have no snow. No ice. We aren’t experiencing anything like our Northern friends who are blanketed with both. Who shovel snow, and have to walk to work.

Still we grow weary of winter.

Our fingers itch to scratch the dirt; we long to watch our little seeds emerge from the soil.

The mailbox bulges with seed catalogs.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We just can’t wait much longer for spring to arrive. (At least I can’t). That is why I am tickled to giveaway FREE SEEDS courtesy of Botanical Interests. Botanical Interests is the brainchild of Judy Seaborn and Curtis Jones.  Judy at an early age could be found in the garden, her hands touching the dirt. Twenty years ago, Judy wanted to create a company that both provided high-quality seeds for veteran gardeners, and, educated newbies who were planting for the first time. When Curtis offered their glorious seeds to you-my readers- I snatched up that offer snappy quick.

An EXAMPLE of seeds available. Seeds awarded will vary from picture.

An EXAMPLE of seeds available. Seeds awarded will vary from picture.

Because for a gardener nothing could be better than FREE Seeds. (except maybe free beans and tomatoes).

What’s the catch?

Well, really the only way I can give away the free seeds is to ask y’all to leave a comment on my blog. I’ll ask my daughter to pick a random number and whoever left that particular comment will receive the seeds. So please, leave a comment, any ole comment. Your words are your registration.

I will contact the winner and ship the seeds.

It really is that easy. Oh, and you might want to consider subscribing to my blog. One never knows what I might give away next .

bitwitter

This is what community looks like my friends. Happy growing from the staff at Botanical Interests, Inc

Note: The winner is expected to take a photo of their winning so that Botanical Interests and others know that I am awarding the seeds. Please note that I ship at my own expense directly from my home. All comments left here and in future posts are considered entries. I will pull a name each weekend thru the end of February.

I also encourage you to order a catalog from Curtis and Judy. They do more than sell seeds, they support the local food bank. Follow this link to place an order.

 

Renea Winchester is the award-winning author of Farming, Friends, and Fried Bologna Sandwiches; Mountain Memories: True Stories and Half-Truths from Appalachia. A Hardscrabble Christmas. Her first book, In the Garden with Billy: Lessons About Life, Love & Tomatoes earned her a SIBA and GAYA nomination. Email her through her website at www.reneawinchester.com. She welcomes new friends on Facebook. Follow her on Twitter Here.

 

 

Tags: , , , ,

54 responses to “Spring Fever Free Seed Giveaway

  1. LaJuana Dunn

    February 6, 2015 at 1:21 pm

    Yes! Just as I was enjoying seeing the green of bulbs pushing up thru the soil and the tips of branches swelling with new life, I wake to 19*! What??? I’m a firm believer that if we must have winter temps, we should have at least a bit of snow for good measure! Thanks for the opportunity to win these seeds, I hope lots of people join in on the fun!

     
  2. Modern Mia Gardening (@modernmiagarden)

    February 6, 2015 at 1:21 pm

    Thank you for this giveaway! I’ve been a fan of Botanical Interests since I started veggie gardening a couple of years ago.

     
  3. tselvey

    February 6, 2015 at 1:30 pm

    Thanks for the giveaway!

     
  4. Dave

    February 6, 2015 at 1:36 pm

    Great giveaway! Botanical Interests has some really good seeds.

     
  5. Derek Bossen

    February 6, 2015 at 1:37 pm

    What better way to begin dreaming of spring

     
  6. Martha Franks

    February 6, 2015 at 1:49 pm

    I’m so ready to start planting!

     
  7. Amy Halpern

    February 6, 2015 at 2:02 pm

    my garden needs some sprucing up..would love new seeds

     
  8. Sheryle G

    February 6, 2015 at 2:34 pm

    Can’t wait for spring!

     
  9. Jackie Tanaka

    February 6, 2015 at 2:39 pm

    Bought an Aerogarden hydroponic system to harvest herbs and keep myself from starting seeds too early here in Zone 5

     
  10. Satin Sheet Diva

    February 6, 2015 at 2:48 pm

    This could be my chance to start my garden, so fingers crossed :-). Hugs!

     
  11. Cynthia Nunes Robinson

    February 6, 2015 at 5:08 pm

    I hear ya! I just moved to a new area thats zone 7a ( from a zone 9 area) , and I don’t know what to do with myself except keep looking at seed catalogs and wistfully staring at the outside thermometer reading in the 30s. I feel like a squirrel, hoarding seed packets and trying to curb my enthusiasm to plant something.

     
  12. Rose Marie

    February 6, 2015 at 5:30 pm

    Renea, I am also itching to get in the dirt, got some heirloom packs of seeds to look at. Someone said now we can start some seeds indoors for tomatoes, I love to watch little seedlings come up! Not sure how I could keep them warm, though. Do you ever start seeds indoors?

     
  13. BetteLou

    February 6, 2015 at 6:08 pm

    Ah-h, sweet Lavender! The stuff dreams are made of!

     
  14. Donna@Gardens Eye View

    February 6, 2015 at 6:52 pm

    Oh my free seeds from Botanical Interests is quite a special giveaway. I could use a few more seeds…always. And the anticipation of spring is greater when you have seeds in your hands. Thanks for this wonderful giveaway.

     
  15. Kelly

    February 7, 2015 at 12:08 am

    I really need a good reason to buy the mini greenhouse at big lots =) Finger crossed!

     
    • Kelly

      February 7, 2015 at 12:09 am

      **oops fingers crossed!

       
  16. Barbara Dover

    February 7, 2015 at 12:21 am

    I feel the need for seeds! 😃

     
  17. Tami Shaughnessy

    February 7, 2015 at 12:31 am

    Need some spring here…..seeds would help

     
  18. Mary Merenda

    February 7, 2015 at 12:41 am

    Oh yeah I have Spring Fever, and need some free seeds. –mm–

     
  19. Rebekah Laflin

    February 7, 2015 at 1:40 am

    yes! I have been fussing around with all of my indoor plants bothering and badgering them. I even moved on to the outdoors and pruned my roses as they have all leafed out anyway not waiting for any forsythia’s to bloom…. I am so excited to get things growing again 😀

     
  20. Caitlin Clineff

    February 7, 2015 at 2:58 am

    Now that the sun rises as I’m waking up in the morning, I can’t help but get excited about container gardening on my tiny balcony!! I would love some seeds to get started 😀

     
  21. Peggy

    February 7, 2015 at 3:10 am

    I would love to receive their seeds, they have a great catalog too, very informative.

     
  22. Lara Ruiz

    February 7, 2015 at 3:39 am

    Less and less winter weather each year in Southern California Desert (Sunset zone 13/zone 9B) we have to plant creatively so trying need seeds is a must. I love the Botanical Interests website. thanks for giving us an opportunity to have such a nice treat!

     
  23. Holly Michael

    February 7, 2015 at 4:50 am

    So ready for spring.

     
  24. Teddi

    February 7, 2015 at 1:33 pm

    I love seeds! Getting the school greenhouse in working order to make a go of spring planting!

     
  25. Trish Harrington

    February 7, 2015 at 4:56 pm

    What a fun idea! I am really looking forward to sowing!

     
  26. Sherry Bartels

    February 7, 2015 at 7:38 pm

    Can’t wait for Spring. I am in Zone 5 and it seems to take forever for Spring to get here.

     
  27. Michelle R

    February 7, 2015 at 11:56 pm

    I’m trying to figure out an alternative use for my seed catalogs, I have too many!!!

     
  28. Maureen

    February 9, 2015 at 6:05 pm

    Who can refuse an offer for free seeds? Not me.

     
  29. Sable

    February 11, 2015 at 4:52 am

    Awesome giveaway. I also live in zone 7 and can’t wait till it gets warmer because I want to start growing plants now.

     
  30. Margaret Rahloff

    February 11, 2015 at 5:30 am

    Oh my- I can’t wait for Spring and free seeds would make the time go by much quicker. I am ready to start planting

     
  31. Nicki Wiederstein

    February 12, 2015 at 1:01 am

    I love your blog! Great inspiration!

     
  32. Renea

    February 12, 2015 at 2:26 pm

    Miss Dover, you are my winner. You should receive your seeds by Friday.Thank you for all who left comments.

     
  33. Lara Ruiz

    February 13, 2015 at 4:52 am

    Congratulations to the winner!

     
  34. Connie Pierson

    February 20, 2015 at 7:07 pm

    I adore FREE seeds! Thank you for your give-away!!

     
  35. Sheryle G

    February 20, 2015 at 7:44 pm

    Ready for spring here and this would be awesome to win!

     
  36. Carol Yemola

    February 20, 2015 at 7:48 pm

    I am so getting the gardening itch! Can’t wait to get my seed started and my hands oh so dirty!

     
  37. Fee Roberts

    February 20, 2015 at 7:59 pm

    This would be great for my 4 year old granddaughter. We have started some seeds and we had a couple of the seeds sprout and she was overjoyed! I’m teaching her how to appreciate nature, animals, pollinators, and plants alike, and how to be self sustaining.

     
  38. Amy Merriam

    February 20, 2015 at 8:42 pm

    I can’t wait to bury my hands in the first fresh warm dirt of the season..there’s no better feeling in the world! Unfortunately, my gardens are all covered by 4 ft of snow right now….but I know it’s all under there somewhere! Botanical Interests is my favorite seed company…the seed packets are works of art!

     
  39. cathy kemp

    February 20, 2015 at 8:44 pm

    im so looking for spring it cant get here fast enough. I started putting out some wildflower seeds that could be done earlyand have so many more to do.

     
  40. Dee Fedor

    February 20, 2015 at 9:23 pm

    -15° this morn in SW MI. There is NO WAY I can plant my peas on St Patty’s Day! Thanks for the chance!

     
    • Renea

      February 20, 2015 at 10:29 pm

      Never give up hope !

       
  41. Tamar Apkarian

    February 20, 2015 at 10:37 pm

    We Have had over 100 inches of snow here ina worcester ma. Bring on spring.

     
  42. Trish Harrington

    February 20, 2015 at 11:38 pm

    I too have the spring fever…I am tired of the bitter cold and snow and ice. Bring on the thaw so I can look for snowdrops and crocus.

     
  43. thesalemgarden

    February 21, 2015 at 12:27 am

    We have 5+ feet of snow here in Salem Massachusetts, some seeds would be wonderful and planting some of them outside will truly be a miracle!

     
  44. Nancy Baxter

    February 21, 2015 at 2:39 am

    I so ready for Spring. I am planning my veggies now and checking out new plants to put in the garden

     
  45. Nancy Baxter

    February 21, 2015 at 2:41 am

    I so ready for warmer weather

     
  46. Shirley/Rock-Oak-Deer

    February 21, 2015 at 3:02 am

    I already purchase these seeds and would love to win some too!

     
  47. Laura RObinson

    February 21, 2015 at 1:16 pm

    Warming up to mid 30’s today in Wake Forest, NC. New to the area from California with a large 1 acre garden to plant. Sure could use so help with free seeds to get some color and veggies going! Thanks for the chance to win!

     
  48. deweyvks44

    February 21, 2015 at 2:34 pm

    These seeds would be a wonderful addition to our Community Garden in Cary. Thank you. Dewey

     
  49. Joanna

    February 21, 2015 at 2:49 pm

    Wow! This is fantastic! Thank you!

     
  50. faboomama

    February 21, 2015 at 3:31 pm

    Every time this pops up on Twitter, I reblog it, but despite WANTING seeds, I really don’t NEED seeds. And BI seeds are great. So wonderful.

     
  51. Gwendolyn Rose

    February 24, 2015 at 11:19 pm

    Thank you for coordinating with Botanical Interests. I would appreciate establishing my garden with annual and perennial seeds. As a low budget gardener, this would help tremendously. I give away food at harvest time. Your seeds will help with this as well.

     
  52. cathy

    February 25, 2015 at 10:58 am

    I really want spring, I want to throw seeds, plant, weed,see our hummers again. guess shouldn’t complain, because were lucky we don’t get snow.

     

Leave a Reply

 
