RSS

Dear Readers, Help Me Identify These Plants

06 Apr

It only took a couple warm days to awaken the wildflowers. I’m not exactly an expert when it comes to wildflowers, which is why I am asking y’all to help me identify some flowers just-now emerging from a long winter’s nap. Here are the images:

Photo one:

20150318_112344

Photo Number One

Next up: This one looks familiar, but . . . well, I am not sure.

Plant #2: closeup

Plant #2:

20150318_112446

Plant #2: Closeup

Photo Three: I know this one, it's "Turkey Mustard," tastes like horseradish. Yummy.

Photo Three: I know this one, it’s “Turkey Mustard,” tastes like horseradish. Yummy.

I am confident with image number three. This little precious is a favorite: Dentaria diphylla or, Toothwort is a member of the mustard family. Mamaw Lena calls it “Turkey Mustard,” wonder why?

Photo Four: I think it’s Wintergreen. What do you think?

Photo 4: I'm pretty sure this is Chimaphila maculata: Striped Wintergreen

Photo 4: I’m pretty sure this is Chimaphila maculata: Striped Wintergreen

Photo Five: Darling friends, I haven’t a clue. It’s not a fern. What say ye?

What do my wildflower-loving friends say?

Photo Five: ??

Photo Six: I have looked at this image several times. At first blush I thought it was the same plant as featured in the first photo. Now I am not so certain. Do you know any wildflower experts? What do they think?

20150318_112541

Photo Six:

Photo Seven: I’m pretty sure this is a Buckeye. If so, I am over the moon as Buckeyes are known to be “lucky.”  But alas, I am working on my second case of poison ivy, so this may be poison sumac. Because I wasn’t 100% certain I gave this plant a wide berth.

20150405_154640

Photo Seven: Buckeye? I think so.

Another mystery plant.

Photo 8: ??

Photo Eight:  I was meandering along and noticed this plant. Yet another that leaves me curious.

20150405_202446

Number Nine: Bluets, the darling of spring

Photo Nine: I will leave you with the spring beauty known as Bluets (also called innocence). What a delight to see these lovely faces. I have missed them.

Renea Winchester is the award-winning author of Farming, Friends, and Fried Bologna Sandwiches; Mountain Memories: True Stories and Half-Truths from Appalachia. A Hardscrabble Christmas. Her first book, In the Garden with Billy: Lessons About Life, Love & Tomatoes earned her a SIBA and GAYA nomination. Order signed copies or, email her through her website at www.reneawinchester.com. She welcomes new friends on Facebook. Follow her on Twitter Here.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 6, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Dear Readers, Help Me Identify These Plants

  1. lapais

    April 6, 2015 at 11:58 pm

    They all look like weeds to me!! Wonder how many I’ve pulled in my lifetime!!

     
  2. Laurie

    April 7, 2015 at 12:05 am

    Aescules parviflora. Bottlebrush Buckeye indeed

     
  3. Angelita (Angie) Ritz

    April 7, 2015 at 2:06 am

    Hi Renea. I’m thinking #4 is pipsissewa and #5 is grape fern. Look them up and see what you think.

     
  4. George

    April 7, 2015 at 1:01 pm

    *** Hi … interesting plants … I’ll cherry pick one and leave the rest for others to cogitate … #5 is in fact one of the so-called “grape ferns” (Botrychium sp.) which can be tricky to i.d. down to species level … I’d guess that this one is southern grape fern (B. biternatum ) … I think I can see a long narrow fertile frond emerging on the right side of the cluster at about one o’clock … George

     

Leave a Reply

 
