RSS

Stop the car !

13 May
Stop the car !

Subscribers to my blog know I am a Stop The Car kind of gal.

I yelled that phrase while my husband and I were dating (to pick flowers).

I yell that phrase when I’m driving: (to rescue flowers, shrubs, and anything else heavy equipment threatens to destroy)

And I certainly yell Stop The Car when I see a turtle trying to cross a busy road at 4:30 in the afternoon when the temperature is 88 degrees.

Lord, why is it eighty eight degrees in the middle of May? 

Yesterday, I slammed on the brakes, did a quick u-turn and snatched a turtle from a certain death.20150512_160643 20150512_160700

I’m pretty sure no one else noticed, or cared about the turtle . . . a creature who – based on size alone – was here long before any of the subdivisions around here. Most people are too busy talking and driving to notice much of anything these days.

I placed it on the safe-side of the road and walked away but something whispered it’s not safe.

It’s not safe: from the traffic.

Not protected from pesticides.

Not long for this world if left to fend for itself in its present location.

I mean, there was a reason why the turtle was crossing the road in the middle the day, which is why I turned around, bent down and said, “I’m taking you home with me.”

Home.

Where there are trees by the hundreds.

Where the lawn is pesticide free.

Where the turtle can live out the rest of its life peacefully.

I may never see the turtle again, but there is comfort in knowing that my home is a safe place. For trees, rescued flowers and turtles.

20150512_16391420150512_16072720150512_160930

20150512_164116

*   *   *

Renea Winchester is the award-winning author of 

Farming, Friends, and Fried Bologna Sandwiches

Mountain Memories: True Stories and Half-Truths from Appalachia. 

A Hardscrabble Christmas. Her first book, In the Garden with Billy: Lessons About Life, Love & Tomatoes earned her a SIBA and GAYA nomination. Order signed copies or, email her through her website at www.reneawinchester.com. She welcomes new friends on Facebook. Follow her on Twitter Here.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 13, 2015 in A Glimpse into My Life

 

Leave a Reply

 
