RSS

A Hootenanny at The South Carolina Book Festival

14 May

20150513_101003The author’s journey is one filled with emotional highs and lows. Today I write about a high, a giddy-kind of euphoria I have dreamed about for years.

I have been invited to THE South Carolina Book Festival. (May 16 and 17 in Columbia South Carolina). Not only have I been invited, I am sitting on a panel, and participating in what is perhaps the best event during my book tour, a Literary Hootenanny. 

If you must ask for the definition of Hootenanny, all I can say is Bless your heart. 

This little presentation features the literary genius of Marlin Barton, Beth Ann Fennelly,Tom Franklin, Jeremy Hawkins, Harrison Scott Key, Jonathan Odell, Shari Smith, Karen White and little ole me.

Butterflies have taken up residency in my tummy, but since my people hail from South Carolina, I think I’m going to do just fine. However, if you are in the area, please stop in to this FREE event.  On Saturday, May 16, I will read one of my favorite passages from Farming, Friends, and Fried Bologna Sandwiches. If your schedule is too busy on Saturday, please drop by the Farm to Table panel at 2:50 pm on Sunday May 17.

A link to the schedule is here.

Also, I ask you to tell a friend about my books. I have been nominated for the Georgia Author of the year, and Farming, Friends, and Fried Bologna Sandwiches will be featured in the Atlanta Journal Constitution on May 21st along with an article about Farmer Billy.

This publicity pales when compared to a personal recommendation from you, the reader. Many people “see” my book on the shelves, but some won’t take a risk on an author with whom they aren’t familiar. If you liked my books, please tell a friend. I have a few copies available that can be purchased through my website. Those are signed by both me, and Farmer Billy. Of course, Farming is traditionally published and all bookstores can order copies. However, please know that if you order a used copy from Amazon, I do not receive royalties, all proceeds go to the seller. Amazon readers can order here.

Renea Winchester is the award-winning author of Farming, Friends, and Fried Bologna SandwichesMountain Memories: True Stories and Half-Truths from Appalachia. A Hardscrabble Christmas. Her first book, In the Garden with Billy: Lessons About Life, Love & Tomatoes earned her a SIBA and GAYA nomination. Order signed copies or, email her through her website at www.reneawinchester.com. She welcomes new friends on Facebook. Follow her on Twitter Here.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 14, 2015 in A Glimpse into My Life

 

Leave a Reply

 
