RSS

Sowing Seeds and Literacy

09 Mar

I can feel my temperature rising, like lava bubbling up from within, but – thus far– I remain victorious in this battle to finish my winter duties. My winter duties have been intense: purging, purging, and after that, more purging. However, spring fever has set in with my dad and when he drops subtle hints such as, “where are my seeds?” my duties take a backseat.

The Winchester Family Farm believes in hoarding, I mean collecting, seeds. As shown in this picture, even when cancer was devouring my mother’s strength, she invested time and energy into saving seeds from the garden. Momma even jotted down a note about the longevity of the tomatoes. Bless her..seeds

But 2016 is a new year, another motherless year, one in which Dad and I are broadening our horizons. This year we will order, as usual, from Botanical Interest Seeds, but we are also ordering from Sow True Seed.

Planting News:

This year Sow True Seed has pledged 25% of all sales to my little hometown library in Bryson City, North Carolina. If you’ve enjoyed a ride on the Great Smoky Mountains Railroad, you have been in my hometown. And if you enjoyed your stay in my little hometown I kindly ask you to consider purchasing a package or two of seeds, be they tomato, cucumber, or sunflowers. You can plant them in your own garden or donate them back to the library (or send them to me and I’ll deliver them). I can’t think of a better way to spread a little love and simultaneously plant the seed of literacy.
Here’s how it works. Visit Sow True Seed’s website, and when ordering use the code MBL2016 (for Marianna Black Library). You must use the code.Remember last year when I sold daffodils to help a needy family? This is the same concept, only this time we’re buying books and building a library. And since I believe in my readers and their generosity, I challenge everyone reading this to purchase at least two packets of seeds. Every bit counts.

Writing News:
This fall I released Walking in the Rain: A Short Story about a Sacred Place. For those who have been waiting for me to write about my home-town mountains, this short story takes you back to a place my people once called home. Long before the book Bryson City Tales and Kephart’s Our Southern Highlanders, my family called the Great Smoky Mountains home. When this world starts getting me down I retreat to this place, to an area locals would call the “way back,” and then I sit, and I wait, and I allow myself to be absolutely still.
If you haven’t been absolutely still in a while I highly recommend you take a trip to the “way back.” If a road trip isn’t possible, please consider reading Walking in the Rain.
For those who have asked, will Farming, Friends, & Fried Bologna Sandwiches be released as an e-book? I regret that Mercer University Press still says no. They do not typically convert non-fiction books into electronic format. No worries, Farmer Billy still has copies on Hardscrabble Road, and I have about eight copies at home. Of course, all bookstores can still order copies for you, and readers can contact Mercer University Press directly to order. All of my other work is available electronically.

What’s Next?
That’s an easy question. I have my eyes on a large patch of daffodils that are directly in the path of an evil dozer. I’ll be digging if you need me. I can feel the fever about to bubble over. After all, a gardener must do what a gardener does and that’s get those hands dirty.

Those who wish to contribute directly to the library can donate to:

Campaign Contributions

Gifts to furnish the new library (FF&E) go to:

Marianna Black Library Fund
Attn: Ms. Deb Lawley
33 Fryemont Street
Bryson City, NC 28713
Make check payable to : Fontana Regional Library

Gifts for construction go to:

Community Services of Swain County
PO Box 812
Bryson City, NC 28713
Make check payable to: Swain County Library Capital Fund

With sincere fondness and appreciation,

Renea Winchester is the award-winning author of Farming, Friends and Fried Bologna Sandwiches. She is passionate about heritage seeds, and saving daffodils. When she isn’t digging in the dirt she is hoarding canning jars and reading good books. 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 9, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Sowing Seeds and Literacy

  1. Edwin Arnold Ammons PO Box 241 Connelly Springs, NC 28612

    March 9, 2016 at 5:34 am

    I’m am done with you! I tried to console you on the loss of your mother. I make a ring from a silver quarter to commemorate her birth. You do not have the common courtesy to acknowledge whether you ever even received it. I am sure you will discard it as you will l the rest of the things I sent you, but that is your loss. I know you think you have outgrown the people you grew up with. Maybe you are better that me but that is for God to decide.

    I tried! I failed! I will start all over somewhere else! In the meantime I hope to never hear from you again. There are far too many people that need my help and will appreciate the pittance I can give. But as you have noticed (or probably not) I ask nothing in return.

    Nothing hurts me worse than to have my offers of help ignored or refused! You are degrading my God and what I believe in. So you go on your merry way but don’t look for me because I have chosen the Christian way

    I usually end my correspondences with Good Luck to You but in this case I will change that to May You Get What You Deserve!

     
  2. Renea

    March 9, 2016 at 3:57 pm

    Edwin, What a terrible comment to leave on my post. I have made it public so that people can pray for you that God will remove the hostility you have toward me. God will give me grace. Abundant grace. My prayer is that he does the same for you. I think it is best that you unsubscribe to my blog as it obviously angers you. I will not respond to further posts.

     

Leave a Reply

 
