RSS

Seeking Your Input for Writing Conference

03 Feb

untitled1

Each year a group of veteran authors partner with Kennesaw State University to present the annual Red Clay Conference. The conference is available to members of the Georgia Writers Association, the link you will find here. Whether you are an aspiring author, or a veteran author, a membership here is money well spent.

This year’s conference will be held Saturday, April 22, 2017.

For several years, I have offered critique sessions whereby participants submit a short section of their work in progress. I critique the work and then – at the conference – meet the author for a one-on-one consultation of said work. This service has been widely popular. Many authors go on to hire me as their personal editor. Last year, two participants were published in magazines, two published their novels, and one contracted with an agent. Editing, is the most crucial step in writing, but I digress.

This weekend, The Georgia Writers will meet to plan the April conference. For the authors currently reading this blog, I ask, “what questions do you have about the writing process?” Do you want to learn about editing, the business side of being an author, or the steps from passion to publication? I want to build a conference that answers your questions and leaves you feeling excited about your work.

I am uncertain if the board will opt to hold critique sessions this year; but before we meet to discuss the agenda, I want to ensure that the conference meets your needs.

So tell me, what do you look for in a writing conference.

Renea will donate the proceeds of her Christmas Story: A Hardscrabbleuntitled1Christmas  and In the Garden with Billy to the victims she met at The Distribution Center in Gatlinburg Tennessee. Download it here.

Renea Winchester is a traditionally-published author of three books. She is a Jesus lover, a gardener, and a giver of hugs. She may be reached at P.O. Box 404, Webster NC 28788

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 3, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Seeking Your Input for Writing Conference

  1. ambernagle

    February 3, 2017 at 12:38 pm

    Renea,

    I feel that there is always a need for writers to learn the craft of editing their own work—taking it from good to GREAT—before they have a professional editor look at it. So many writers I work with don’t know the basics of interesting storytelling. I also know from experience that most writers are the least interested in learning to edit their own work. They want to write and then BAM—get a big publishing deal. They really discount the editing steps that you and I know are so critical.

    Maybe instead of having a session titled, “Editing 101,” maybe the name of the session would draw more attention if it were titled, “Good the GREAT: Take your Writing to the Next Level.”

    Another topic for writers interested in freelancing could be, “The Art of the Pitch.” As editor of the Good Life Magazines in Northwest Georgia, I read lots of pitches these days. I can tell so much about a writer from the pitch. It truly is an art form.

    Amber

     
  2. Satin Sheet Diva

    February 3, 2017 at 1:23 pm

    Definitely need more info on the business side – answers to questions such as, “do I need to register myself as a business, and if so, am I a sole proprietor or should I go for the LLC?” That has been the biggest, unanswered question in the 7 years I’ve been self-published. My second biggest is about copyright registration of work I’ve already self-published? How important is copyright registration to an indie author?

    Thanks Renea!

     

Leave a Reply

 
